What is the statute of limitations for pursuing old credit card debt?

Received collectors coming after you for old credit card debt? Looks like they’ll by no means quit? Effectively, the excellent news is, finally they’ll’t sue you for the cash anymore, because of one thing referred to as the “statute of limitations”, which is authorized terminology for setting a time interval after which a grievance cannot be pursued additional in courtroom. (NOTE: Though they’ll’t sue after a sure time, that doesn’t imply they need to cease contacting you to attempt to gather.)

On your credit card debt, the statute of limitations will differ by state. In most states, it is in the vary of three years to six years, however a handful of states enable collectors to return after you for so long as 8-10 years. Beneath you may test your state’s legislation as typically accepted, although don’t be stunned if a collections company tries to say the statute is completely different for your explicit circumstances. You’ll at all times need an lawyer who understands your state’s legislation if you’re sued.

  • Alabama: three years
  • Alaska: three years
  • Arizona: 6 years
  • Arkansas: 5 years
  • California: four years
  • Colorado: 6 years
  • Connecticut: 6 years
  • Delaware: three years
  • Florida: 5 years
  • Georgia: 6 years
  • Hawaii: 6 years
  • Idaho: 5 years
  • Illinois: 5 years
  • Indiana: 6 years
  • Iowa: 5 years
  • Kansas: three years
  • Kentucky: 5 years
  • Louisiana: three years
  • Maine: 6 years
  • Maryland: three years
  • Massachusetts: 6 years
  • Michigan: 6 years
  • Minnesota: 6 years
  • Mississippi: three years
  • Missouri: 5 years
  • Montana: Eight years
  • Nebraska: four years
  • Nevada: four years
  • New Hampshire: three years
  • New Jersey: 6 years
  • New Mexico: four years
  • New York: 6 years
  • North Carolina: three years
  • North Dakota: 6 years
  • Ohio: 6 years
  • Oklahoma: 5 years
  • Oregon: 6 years
  • Pennsylvania: four years
  • Rhode Island: 10 years
  • South Carolina: three years
  • South Dakota: 6 years
  • Tennessee: 6 years
  • Texas: four years
  • Utah: 6 years
  • Vermont: 6 years
  • Virginia: three years
  • Washington: 6 years
  • Washington D.C.: three years
  • West Virginia: 10 years
  • Wisconsin: 6 years
  • Wyoming: Eight years

]]>

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *